Common Acronyms

ACAATO Association of Colleges of Applied Arts & Technology of Ontario
ACSLC Application Centres’ Senior Liaison Committee
ACU Association of Commonwealth Universities
ADM Assistant Deputy Minister
AHSC Academic Health Sciences Centres
AODA Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act
APIMG Assessment Program for International Medical Graduates
ATOP Access to Opportunities Program
AUCC Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada
CAAT College of Applied Arts and Technology
CASA Canadian Alliance of Student Associations
CAUBO Canadian Association of University Business Officers
CAURA Canadian Association of University Research Administrators
CAUT Canadian Association of University Teachers
CCOU Council of Chairs of Ontario Universities
CEHSO Council of Environmental Health and Safety Officers
CESPA Committee on Enrolment Statistics, Projections and Analysis
CFI Canada Foundation for Innovation
CFS Canadian Federation of Students
CFS-O Canadian Federation of Students – Ontario
CHERD Centre for Higher Education Research and Development
CHST Canada Health and Social Transfer
CICA Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants
CIFAR Canadian Institute for Advanced Research
CIHR Canadian Institutes of Health Research
CIRPA Canadian Institutional Research and Planning Association
CO Colleges Ontario
CODE Council of Ontario Deans of Engineering
COFM Council of Ontario Faculties of Medicine
COFO-UO Council of Finance Officers – Universities of Ontario
COGO Council of Ontario Graduate Officers
COU Council of Ontario Universities
COUPN Council of Ontario University Programs in Nursing
COUS Council of Ontario University Secretaries
CRTC Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
CSAO-UO Council of Senior Administrative Officers – Universities of Ontario
CSHRO Council of Senior Human Resource Officers
CSPS Canada School of Public Service
CUDO Common University Data Ontario
CUPA Council on University Planning and Analysis
DM Deputy Minister
EPF Established Programs Financing
EQAO Education Quality and Accountability Office
ESL English as a Second Language
FCP Federal Contractors Program
FRP Facilities Renewal Program
FT Full-Time
FTE Full-Time Equivalent
GAAP Generally Accepted Accounting Principles
GIC Gender Issues Committee
HEQCO Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario
HRSDC Human Resources and Skills Development Canada
IC Industry Canada
ICRP Income Contingent Repayment Plan
IIO Innovation Institute of Ontario
INAC Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
IUTS Inter-University Transit System
LGIC Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council
MAESD Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development
MCI Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration
MCSS Ministry of Community and Social Services
MCYS Ministry of Children and Youth Services
MEI Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure
MMO Materials and Manufacturing Ontario
MOE Ministry of the Environment
MOF Ministry of Finance
MOHLTC Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
MOPSIE Model of Post-Secondary Institutional Enrolment
MRI Ministry of Research and Innovation
NASM Net Assignable Square Metres
NAUBCS National Association of University Board Chairs and Secretaries
NGO Non-Governmental Organization
NOC Northern Ontario Committee
NRC National Research Council of Canada
NSERC Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
NSSE National Survey of Student Engagement
OAC Ontario Academic Credit
OACUSA Ontario Association of College & University Security Administrators
OADE Ontario Association of Deans of Education
OAPPA Ontario Association of Physical Plant Administrators
OCAS Ontario College Application Service
OCAV Ontario Council of Academic Vice-Presidents
OCE Ontario Centres of Excellence
OCGS Ontario Council on Graduate Studies
OCOTH Ontario Council of Teaching Hospitals
OCSA Ontario Committee on Student Affairs
OCUA Ontario Council on University Affairs
OCUFA Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations
OCUL Ontario Council of University Libraries
OCULL Ontario Council for University Lifelong Learning
OCUPRS Ontario Council of University Programs in Rehabilitation Sciences
OCUR Ontario Council on University Research
OFA Office of Francophone Affairs
OFINA Ontario Financing Authority
OGS Ontario Graduate Scholarships
OGSST Ontario Graduate Scholarships in Science & Technology
OHS Office of Health Sciences
OICAH Ontario Interdisciplinary Council for Aging and Health
OIMGP Ontario International Medical Graduate Program
OISE-UT Ontario Institute for Studies in Education – University of Toronto
OIT Ontario Innovation Trust
OMAFRA Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food & Rural Affairs
ONCAT Ontario Council on Articulation and Transfer
OOLC Ontario Online Learning Consortium
OPAS Office for Partnerships for Advanced Skills
OPHRDC Ontario Physician Human Resource Data Centre
ORDCF Ontario Research and Development Challenge Fund
OSAP Ontario Student Assistance Program
OSSD Ontario Secondary School Diploma
OUAC Ontario Universities’ Application Centre
OUCA Ontario Universities’ Council on Admissions
OUCAC Ontario Universities Capital Aid Corporation
OUCCIO Ontario University Council of Chief Information Officers
OUPAC Ontario Universities’ Public Affairs Council
OUPMA Ontario University Purchasing Management Association
OURA Ontario University Registrars’ Association
OUSA Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance
PAIRO Professional Association of Interns and Residents of Ontario
PGE Post-Graduate Education
PGM Post-Graduate Management
PREA Premier’s Research Excellence Awards
PSAA Public Sector Accountability Act
PT Part-Time
QAF Quality Assurance Framework
SAG Student Access Guarantee
SMC Senior Management Committee
SSHRC Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada
TFUA Task Force on University Accountability
U/C University/College Preparation Course
UCASS University and College Academic Staff System
UE Undergraduate Education
WGUC Working Group on University Capacity
WGUR Working Group on University Research
WGUPP Working Group on University Pension Plans